From the magazine

Secretary’s Corner

Corporate Members – Australia

Mr Jason Linaker from kwik-ZIP Pty Ltd

Mr Ian Berry from Pipelines Downer EDI Works

Individual Members – Australia

Mr Paul Balemi from JB Contractors Ltd

Individual Members – New Zealand

Mr Sean McHenry from Pipetech Consulting Limited

Mr Samuel Rowdon from Coast Digger Services Ltd

2010 Membership Fees

Most members have now paid this year’s annual subscription which is appreciated. For those that have not, can you please expedite your payments. Members are reminded that the fees were due to be paid on 1 January 2010.

For your convenience, you can make your payment either by cheque or directly through direct debit to the ASTT Bank Account as shown below. Regrettably the ASTT does not accept Credit Card payments.

If there are any amendments to your mailing addresses or contact names, then please let me know so that the ISTT and ASTT databases and website can be kept up to date and you keep receiving your magazine entitlements.

Trenchless Live – Coffs Harbour

Trenchless Live 2010 will take place from 17-20 October 2010 at Coffs Harbour, New South Wales and this event is FREE to those visiting. This official ASTT event is an exciting, hands-on and truly live exhibition and demonstration of trenchless equipment. In addition to the exhibition, Trenchless Live will also feature a range of training, both classroom and hands-on and keynote presentations, as well as relaxed social functions and networking opportunities. Everyone is invited to come along and take a look and see the latest equipment actually operating.

Update on ASTT Initiatives

“Guidelines and Standards: To publish Guidelines and Standards for new installations, rehabilitation and support services which are suitable for Australasian conditions utilising current International best practice.”

After extensive development and review, I can now advise that the ASTT Guidelines, Standards and Specifications in the key areas of HDD, Pipe Bursting, Microtunnelling and Pipe Jacking are now available online through the ASTT website. These documents can be viewed and downloaded at

This has been a major exercise in both time and money to get the finished product available for all to use. It has without doubt been one of the toughest goals from the ASTT Business Plan. I would like to thank all those who provided our Consultant, Joel Chong, with valuable suggestions and comments on the drafts as they were being developed.

These documents will not be static as it is intended to undertake a periodic review as and when it is considered necessary based on feedback from users.

The ASTT will tackle the development of Guidelines, Standards and Specifications in the rehabilitation areas of existing pipelines at some stage in the future.

Special Reduced Rates for Delegates attending the 28th International No-Dig Conference and Exhibition Singapore, 8-10 November 2010.

All members should have now received information concerning the proposed Group Discount Rate for delegates attending the Singapore International No-Dig this November. Members are reminded that this opportunity expires on 31 May 2010 so if interested, please register your intent with me as soon as possible at

Full details of the Singapore International No-Dig 2010 can also be found on the official website

No-Dig Awards

Entries are invited for the No-Dig Awards for 2010, to be presented at the International No-Dig 2010 Singapore.

Awards may be made for entries in four categories for work completed during 2009-2010 as follows:

* Academic research or training aid/course
* Trenchless project completed
* New machine, tool, material, system or technique introduced
* Student or young professional paper – Members regularly enrolled in college or university, or spending at least half their time on academic course work.

The aim of ISTT is to promote the science and practice of Trenchless Technology, and the Awards are to raise the profile and status of the Society and its Award Winners.

The 2010 ASTT Awards are also open, turn to page 28 for more information.

Closing date for entries is 30 July 2010. Entries should be submitted to

Jeff Pace, ASTT Secretary

Send this to a friend