HDD, Tunnelling

New leadership for ISTT

Mr Choi was initiated into the role at the ISTT’s annual board meeting, held Sunday 1 September 2013 in Sydney.

Mr Choi has taken over the role from Dr Samuel Ariaratnam, who has served for the last three years. In passing the role over to Mr Choi, Mr Ariaratnam described his term as ‘an honour and a privilege’, saying a highlight of the role has been the opportunity to visit Affiliated Societies and experience their hospitality and cultures.

He thanked Past-Chairman Dec Downey for his ongoing support and invaluable advice, and thanked immediate past-Vice Chairman Derek Choi, who he described as being like a brother, for being a sound-board to bounce ideas off during his term as Chairman.

Mr Choi, who was the ISTT Vice Chairman from 2010-2013 and is the founding member of the China Hong Kong Society for Trenchless Technology (CHKSTT), said it is truly a great honour to be the ninth Chairman, and that with the honor comes great challenges and responsibility. In accepting the role, Mr Choi highlighted a few key ventures that will be the focus of his chairmanship, including increasing engagement from membership and expanding trenchless in the Asia region.

Also at the ISTT’s annual board meeting, Enrico Boi of the Italian Association of Trenchless Technology was elected to ISTT Vice President, and the ASTT’s own Jeff Pace was re-elected as an Executive Sub-Committee member.

The ISTT’s annual board meeting is held annually, prior to the Society’s annual No-Dig event. The event this year is being held in conjunction with the ASTT from 1-3 September in Sydney, click here to find out more.

Send this to a friend