Company news, Featured, News, No Dig Down Under, Recommended

Awards finalists announced for NDDU

NDDU is the southern hemisphere’s only large-scale conference and exhibition dedicated to trenchless technology. Trenchless technology is important for installing new services, as well as rehabilitating and maintaining existing pipelines and infrastructure, without having to dig multiple trenches, disturbing traffic, business and residential locations.

With major utilities located underground and requiring ongoing upkeep and extension, No-Dig Down Under is a crucial event for local government representatives and those involved in planning decisions for major infrastructure projects.

The achievements of the Australian trenchless industry will also be recognised, with the nominees being revealed for five awards (for the full list of awards and nominees, see below).

The No-Dig Down Under conference will kick off with a keynote presentation from Jonathan Farrell, Program Manager at Urban Utilities, looking at current projects being undertaken by the company.

His presentation will be followed by a panel session, where Jonathan will be joined by Ben Hayes, Sales Manager at Herrenknecht AG, Tom Sangster, Managing Director of Downley Consultants, and Craig Vandaelle, Vice President of Michels Trenchless Preconstruction.

NDDU is set to be held at the International Convention Centre Sydney from 14-17 June.

To get your free ticket to the NDDU exhibition, register for the conference, or find out more information about the event, click here.

ASTT Award Finalists

Rehabilitation Project of the Year

Recognises innovation, advancements in technology, environmental benefits and occupational health and safety benefits in rehabilitation projects utilising trenchless technology.
Renewal of the Amarina Culvert, Mooloolaba – Interflow.
Lihir Island (PNG) Tailings Pipeline Rehabilitation Project – Spiecapag Australia T/A HDI Lucas.
Ann St to Bartleys Hill Trunk Main Relining – Urban Utilities and Radlinger Primus Line.

New Installation Project of the Year

Recognises innovation, advancements in technology, environmental benefits and occupational health and safety benefits in new installation projects using trenchless technology.
Donnybrook Link Branch Sewer Stage 2 – Edge Underground.
St Mary’s Bay Area Water Quality Improvement Project – McConnell Dowell.
REMS 1B Pipeline Connecting Bomaderry WWTP and Nowra WWTPs – UEA, UGL, Shoalhaven Water.

New Technology: Machine, Tool, Material, System or Technique

Should demonstrate the practical development of trenchless systems or equipment that results in benefits such as improved economy, accuracy, speed of drive or replacement, ability to overcome difficult installations, or similar.
TeraTrak R1 – Digital Control Australia.
Jet pump system in Slurry MTBMs: XXL drive lengths in small diameters – Herrenknecht AG.
B-Tech Connections – ISC Services.

Menno Henneveld ASTT Person of the Year

Recognises an individual who has made major and sustained contributions to the trenchless industry in any area of activity within the industry. The award will identify a contribution over and above the call of duty to grow, develop and promote the use of trenchless technology across Australasia and indeed around the world.
David Tuner – Maxibor.
Jerry Sunarho – Sydney Water.
Lance Horlyck – SASTTI Joint Venture.

Young Person of the Year

Recognises the important role that younger members of the Australasian trenchless community play in the growth of the industry. The recipient will be someone who is engaged with the industry and the promotion of trenchless technology, and has significantly contributed to the industry over the past two years.
Ash Hamer – Yarra Valley Water.
Dominic Preest – McConnell Dowell Constructors.

Send this to a friend