Featured, New South Wales, News, No Dig Down Under, Recommended

Congratulations to the 2022 ASTT award winners


The gala dinner and awards ceremony was proudly sponsored by Bothar Boring and Tunnelling, occurring on the penultimate day of the No-Dig Down Under exhibition. 

ASTT President, Ben Crosby, welcomed guests to the evening and thanked the 400-strong crowd for their contribution to the trenchless industry.

“Thank you – for your hard work and dedication to our beloved industry, your commitment to ensuring that Australasian businesses and individuals are represented on a global scale, and for continually striving to upskill our members,” said Crosby.

“It is an honour to stand in front of you tonight and be able to speak to the success of the trenchless industry in Australia and New Zealand.”

Pat Barron from Bothar Boring and Tunnelling also addressed those in attendance.

“Thank you ASTT, it’s fantastic to finally be here after what has been a tough couple of years,” said Barron.

“That having been said, I believe that there is a silver lining to the passing clouds with the significant increases in expenditure on infrastructure project across all states and territories that will, and is leading, to increased opportunities within the trenchless space. So, to all within this small group of specialist individuals and companies I wish you a safe and prosperous future. Let’s continue to build the world beneath us.”

ASTT Award winners

Rehabilitation Project of the Year
This award recognises innovation, advancements in technology, environmental benefits and occupational health and safety benefits in rehabilitation projects utilising trenchless technology.

The winner of the rehabilitation project of the year award is the Lihir Island Tailings Pipeline Rehabilitation Project, Papua New Guinea, completed by Spiecapag Australia trading as HDI Lucas.

New Installation Project of the Year
This award recognises innovation, advancements in technology, environmental benefits and occupational health and safety benefits in new installation projects using trenchless technology.

The winner of the new installation project of the year is the Donnybrook Link Branch Sewer Stage 2, Melbourne, Victoria completed by Edge Underground.

New Technology: Machine, Tool, Material, System or Technique
Winners of this award should demonstrate the practical development of trenchless systems or equipment that results in benefits such as improved economy, accuracy, speed of drive or replacement, ability to overcome difficult installations, or similar.

The winner of the new technology award is the B-Tech Connections from ISC Services.

Menno Henneveld ASTT Person of the Year
The award recognises an individual who has made major and sustained contributions to the trenchless industry in any area of activity within the industry. The award will identify a contribution over and above the call of duty to grow, develop and promote the use of trenchless technology across Australasia and indeed around the world.

The winner of the Menno Henneveld Person of the Year is Lance Horlyck from the SASTTI joint venture.

Young Person of the Year
This award reecognises the important role that younger members of the Australasian trenchless community play in the growth of the industry. The recipient will be engaged with the industry and the promotion of trenchless technology and has significantly contributed to the industry over the past two years.

The winner of the ASTT Young Person of the Year award is Ash Hamer from Yarra Valley Water.

Trenchless Australasia wishes to congratulate all award winners.

Subscribe to Trenchless Australasia for the latest project and industry news.

Previous ArticleNext Article